Category Archives: Announcements (2015)

Award Winners 2015

Dear Participants,

Thank you all for your commitment and hard work !

The award winners of this year’s 2015 3rd Model UN Human Rights Council Universal Periodic Review are as the following:

Congratulations !

Award State under Review
(Govt’l Bodies)
(1st Role)
Participating State of the UPR
(2nd Role)
Foreign Minister’s Award Japan (Team ①) United States of America KIM TaeHwan, LEE Ye-Eun
SNU President’s Award China (Team ①) United Kingdom CHANG Hyoungyoon*,
KIM Hakyoo*
Freedom Award ROK (Team ④) South Africa KIM Minsu*, HONG Seungki*
Equality Award DPRK (Team ③) Viet Nam YANG Subin,
ROH Kayeon
Justice Award China (Team ④) New Zealand LEE Un Hyung,
KOO Su young
Peace Award Japan (Team ⑥) Jordan KIM Hyoung Gab*,
CHOI Yoo Min*
Peer Review Award Delegation of Japan
All Members of the Delegation of Japan (KIM TaeHwan, LEE Ye-Eun, Lee Dong Min*, Baek Eun Yeong*, JO Hae Jun*, PARK Joon Hong*, LEE Young Sun, LEE Kwang Gul, KIM Hyunji*, LEE Youlim*, KIM Hyoung Gab*, CHOI Yoo Min*)

[Human Rights Essay Contest]

Award Name Human Rights Essay Title
KINU President’s Award BYUN Bo-Kyung Brides for Sale: Human Rights Violations of the Mail-Order Bride Industry
Co-organizers’ Award KIM Hyoung Gab* 성적 소수자가 보호받는 대한민국을 위하여
Co-organizers’ Award Lee Dong Min* 동북아시아 ‘위안부 문제’에 관한 인권개선을 위한 국제협력
Co-organizers’ Award LEE Ye-Eun* 재중 무국적 탈북 2세들의 인권침해 실태

The recipients of the Foreign Minister’s Award and SNU President’s Award will be offered the opportunity to take part in a partially-funded domestic or international human rights training program or overseas volunteering.

* Korean-speaking participant.



Booklet 2015

The booklet on the 2015 3rd Model UN Human Rights Council Universal Periodic Review is now available online !

☞ Download Attachment File
: 2015 UPR Booklet.pdf

This bilingual (English/Korean) booklet was distributed in print format to all participants and observers on the first day of the finals.

Cover:2015 UPR Booklet Cover

Announcement of Finalists 2015

The finalists of the 3rd Model UN Human Rights Council Universal Periodic Review (2015) are announced below (including the results of assignments to the four States under review).

Congratulations on being selected as a participant in the finals !

Further instructions will be sent out soon individually by e-mail to each finalist (participant), so please check your mailbox.

Republic of Korea
No. Applicant 1 Applicant 2
1 BYUN Bo-Kyung YUN Sera
2 BAEG Inha* YOON Tae Jin*
3 KIM Minsu* HONG Seungki*
4 KANG Ji Yun* KIM Deayeob*
5 KIM Seunghye CHA You Jin
6 CHOEI Eunju* CHOEI Hongsuk*


Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
No. Applicant 1 Applicant 2
1 YANG Subin ROH Kayeon
2 CHO A Rum JUN Hyun Shin
3 CHOI JaYoo* JO SungBae*
4 HAN Sai Bom* PARK A Hyun*
5 LEE Wooin* KANG Cheong Eun*
6 YOO Jeeyoon* CHO Yejin*
No. Applicant 1 Applicant 2
1 BAE Su Hyen LEE Saejong
2 LEE Un Hyung KOO Su young
3 KWON Da Yeh AN Yunjeong
4 KWON Da Yeh* LEE Su Min*
5 DO Seungji* KWON Soonhyun*
6 CHANG Hyoungyoon* KIM Hakyoo*
No. Applicant 1 Applicant 2
1 KIM TaeHwan LEE Ye-Eun
2 LEE Young Sun LEE Kwang Gul
3 JO Hae Jun* PARK Joon Hong*
4 Lee Dong Min* Baek Eun Yeong*
5 KIM Hyunji* LEE Youlim*
6 KIM Hyoung Gab* CHOI Yoo Min*

* Korean-speaking participant.

Observer Registration for the 2015 3rd Model UN Human Rights Council UPR

2015 UPR - Observer Registration

▪ Registration Deadline: Monday, 27 July 2015

▪ How to Register: Please send your name, affiliation and contact information (e-mail & phone number) by e-mail to and deposit the observation fee (KRW 10,000) to the bank account below.

▪ Bank account: Kookmin Bank 533301-01-116492 (Depositor: “휴먼아시아”)

▪ Benefit: Registered observers will receive event booklets (meals, souvenirs not provided)

▪ Refund policy : For a full refund, cancellation no later than Wednesday, 29 July 2015

* On-site registration at the information desk on the day of the event is also possible (fee payment in cash only).